24 August 2019 19:16


Vivek Chaand Sehgal wins Forbes India ‘Entrepreneur for the Year 2018’ Award

India Inc’s brightest, biggest and bravest entrepreneurs were honoured at the Forbes India Leadership Awards held in Mumbai recently

- Business legend Azim Premji was honoured with the ‘Lifetime Achievement’ award

The Forbes India Leadership Awards, India's most prestigious business awards, with an emphasis on excellence, innovation and transformational leadership, honoured some of India Inc’s biggest and brightest personalities at a high-profile ceremony in Mumbai on Thursday.

The awards, across nine categories, acknowledged the outstanding contribution of CEOs, entrepreneurs and business leaders who have built enterprises that have had a deep and enduring impact on the wider Indian society. The nominees and winners represented diverse backgrounds: startups and mid-sized firms to the more mature organisations operating at a global scale.

“The winners of the Forbes India Leadership Awards have found a balanced path to guide their organisations to success year after year. They command authority, as well as respect, and yet believe in flat organisational structures, decentralised decision-making and empowered teams. Change is something they embrace gracefully. The Forbes India Leadership Awards strives to recognise these changemakers and nation builders,” said Brian Carvalho, Editor, Forbes India.

The achievements of this year’s winners assume significance since they braved challenging economic conditions over the past year, to steer their organisations towards operational excellence.

Here are the winners of the Forbes India Leadership Awards 2018:

Outstanding Startup

R Narayan – Power2SME

GenNext Entrepreneur

Adar Cyrus Poonawalla – Serum Institute of India

Entrepreneur with Social Impact

Gayathri Vasudevan – LabourNet

Conscious Capitalist Company for the year
Narayana Health

Best CEO – Multinational Company

Sanjiv Mehta – Hindustan Unilever Ltd

Best Company - Public Sector

Saurabh Kumar – Energy Efficiency Services Limited

Best CEO - Private Sector

Rajeev Jain – Bajaj Finance

Lifetime Achievement Award for the Year

Azim Premji – Wipro Limited

Entrepreneur for the Year

Vivek Chaand Sehgal – Motherson Sumi Systems


The process started almost six months ago, with extensive research on qualitative and quantitative parameters. The long-list of names for each category was whittled down by August and was narrowed down to a strong set of three to five nominees for each category. In September, a high-powered jury headed by Mr Harsh Mariwala, chairman of Marico Ltd, examined the nominations and came up with the set of winners. The other eminent members of the jury wereSaurabh Mukherjea, Founder, Marcellus Investment Managers; Sanjay Nayar, CEO, KKR India; Ashu Suyash, MD and CEO, Crisil; Ronnie Screwvala, Co-Founder of UpGrad; and Noshir Kaka, Senior Partner, McKinsey & Company India. Together, they bring years of experience in the corporate sector to the jury.

KPMG, Forbes India’s knowledge partner for the event, helped with the number crunching so essential for the process.

Read 602 times Last modified on Friday, 23 November 2018 02:21
Share this article

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated. HTML code is not allowed.


We use cookies to improve our website. By continuing to use this website, you are giving consent to cookies being used. More details…